Government Relations

Government Relations

Trade and cross-border investment is rarely simple. Often differences in legislation which jeopardise business or socioeconomic development can only be resolved through government intervention. Using our contacts, knowledge of state functions and regional integration we can connect you or your organisation with the relevant elected officials, governance institutions and public servants at all levels of government. Here are some examples of how we can assist you or your organisation:

  • Access: We help you identify the relevant stakeholders and assist you with meeting them or establishing a partnership.
  • International Relations: We advise on how to deal with international relations challenges such as legislation or policy changes that threaten your interests.
  • Regional Governance: We improve existing government relation strategies by enhancing your team’s understanding of regional governance.
  • Strategic Public Affairs: We help you formulate and implement strategic engagement with the relevant authorities in order to amplify your impact.

The African regional governance landscape is complex. Let us help you understand it and connect you with the right stakeholders so you can contribute to African development. To read more about the key regional economic communities in Southern Africa click on this page.

Unlike the typical “arm-length” public relations, our government relations assistance is aimed at direct interaction with the relevant legislators or government officials. This allows for more direct impact, concerted policy influence and a deeper appreciation of African governance; which expedites government interventions.



Cast Study: Alternative Rural Livelihoods in South Africa

ARLs in South Africa the Policy Brief

PESA was commissioned by Oxfam South Africa to conduct research into alternative livelihoods of communities in rural areas. The research involved fieldwork in Kwazulu-Natal, Limpopo and North West provinces of South Africa. The project aimed to build a better understanding of alternative rural livelihood (ARL) strategies and bringing it to strategically important audiences, build support for resistance and work towards state policies supportive of the livelihood strategies preferred by rural people.


Follow PESA Online

Institutional Arrangement: Free Trade Area
Headquarter Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Established: 17 August 1992

Institutional Arrangement: Customs Union & Monetary Union excl. Botswana
Headquarter Location: Windhoek, Namibia
Established: 29 June 1910

Institutional Arrangement: Free Trade Area
Headquarter Location: Lusaka, Zambia
Established: 8 December 1994

Institutional Arrangement: Regional Economic Community
Headquarter Location: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Established: 26 May 2001

Follow PESA Online

Follow us on some of your favourite social media.

Contact Us

Please complete the General Enquiry form and submit it to us for a response. Please use the subject “Media” for all media-related requests.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.